Review: Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi

“Everyone Juliette cares about may be dead. Now Juliette is the only one standing in The Reestablishment’s way. But to take them down, as well as Anderson, the man that nearly killed her, Juliette needs the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner.

And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew – about Warner, her abilities, and even Adan – was wrong.”

Ignite Me is the third and last book in the Shatter Me-series – you can read my review of the first and second book here:

Review: Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi

Review: Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi

IMG_4064

I feel like I have been too much of a jerk towards this series, but I really feel the need to write down my honest thoughts.

I can’t even begin to say how disappointed I was with how Tahereh mafi did a complete 100 % character-change with Warner. He is not at all the same character as he was in the first book. I almost wanted to throw up – yes, I’m over exaggerating, but going from loving the character of Warner so much in the first and second book to hating him in the last book is a really big change that I was not happy about.

Once again the plot was too unrealistic – in war everything does not always go in your favor – but apparently it does in the Shatter Me-trilogy.

The ending of this last book was rushed. Incredibly rushed indeed. Like the first book, it felt like the writer just wanted to end it right then and there, like she was tired of writing the story, so she just rushed through the last part of the story like all Juliette’s problems suddenly solved themselves in a second.

I have never been so frustrated with a trilogy as I have been with this one. Sometimes it was amazing, other times it was terrible – and it just kept changing between the two until the end. But as I have said with the two other books in the series, the books are quick and easy reads which are nice for a train ride home.

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (English), 408 pages, Harper

One thought on “Review: Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

