Review: Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi

I have a curse.

I have a gift.

I’m a monster.

I’m more than human.

My touch is lethal.

My touch is power.

I am their weapon.

I will fight back.

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength til fight back for the very first time – and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.”

IMG_4044

Shatter Me written by Tahereh Mafi revolves around the 17 year old Juliette who is locked in a cell convicted for murder, and she cannot remember the last time she has touched another person. Juliette’s touch is lethal, and while sitting in her cell, she dreams of a world she never experienced. A world where birds still fly in the sky. After being isolated for far too long Juliette’s life changes drastically after Adam joins her in the cell. The story of Shatter Me seems to me to be more of a female daydream about romantic bad boys, more than an actual plot of a selling novel. What I mean by that is that is not very creative and not very well written, and the story has too many overly unrealistic details that reminds me of a daydream. As I said, the novel is not very good literary vise, and Tahereh Mafi is often trying to be too poetic in her choice of words. I like that idea of how Juliette’s touch can kill people, it is original and exciting to imagine, but as a character, Juliette is bland and not very interesting to read about. I also don’t understand her choice in guys~ The novel ended too abruptly, because nothing had really happened yet. To me, it seemed liked the author cut the story short just to make a sequel. I honestly do not think Shatter Me should have been a series, and instead the three books should have been only one. With all that said, I will admit that the novel was a nice and quick read, and I was always looking forward to reading it on the train. It is good to read when tired or exhausted, so even with all my critique of the first book I still decided to buy the rest of the trilogy.

Read my reviews of the two other books in the trilogy:

Unravel Me

Ignite Me

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (English), 338 pages, Harper

3 thoughts on “Review: Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

