10 Week Book Tag: Question #7

Question #7: Reading at home or everywhere?

Before university I only felt like I was comfortable reading at home. Random noises from the “outside” would become distractions to me. That has since then changed. Today I spend three hours a day travelling to and from my university which is a long time if you are not doing anything. Usually I spend this time reading my homework, but on those few lucky days where I don’t have a lot of homework, I tend to bring a non-school related book to read. It is quite amazing how many pages you can read on a 40-minute train ride.

Book recommendation of the week:

In a few days time, the danish movie “Skammerens Datter” will be shown in cinemas all around the country. I’m looking forward to watch it, so I thought this weeks recommendation would be of the book that the movie is based on.

In english the book is called “The Shamer’s Daughter” and is part of a series consisting of four books. It is written by the danish writer Lene Kaaberbøl in 2000, and is about a young girl who can see what people are ashamed about, when she looks into their eyes. The book portrays a lonely, yet strong girl who is forced out on a scary and adventurous path, meeting both good and bad people on her way.

The book may be written for the younger readers, but I will definitely recommend it to everyone, because it has been one of my favorite books since I was ten years old.

Shia

Leave a Reply

